Remembering 9/11


AF

So I have to get something off my chest.  Many of you may not agree with me, but I have issue with the number of pictures I’ve seen today on various social media sites of what happened on 9/11/01.  The idea of google searching “9/11 tragedy” and other various word groupings to secure a picture of what happened that day leaves me with a feeling of uneasiness.  I don’t like it one bit.  Today my timelines have been littered with #neverforget followed by a picture of the towers collapsing or an image of the wreck or a tribute picture that includes the twin towers.  If that’s your slice of pie, by all means, have at it, but for me, it’s too much.  I think often we try too hard to show our feelings through social media and on a day like today we shouldn’t be reminded of the twin towers collapsing but rather remembering the brave women and men who lost their lives.  #neverforget is solid but a picture of dust and rubble and people falling from the sky isn’t my thing.  I’m proud to be an American and am sorry to each and every family that lost a love one that day.

 

